#1 craig bass

craig bass
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 13 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 03 April 2012 - 11:18 PM

Hello everybody.

The question I am about to ask may seem a bit naive, but as I am self taught in the art of lighting (and still very much a novice) I was hoping that someone would be kind enough to help me out. My question is: how can I simulate a light coming from a practical source in frame (say, a desk lamp) without A) lighting up the fixture itself; B) casting a shadow of the fixture; and C) motivating the direction of the shadows. This far I have been attempting to shine a beam in the same direction as the practical, from behind it. This always causes the practical to cast a shadow, which is ridiculously unrealistic, as no light casts a shadow of itself in such a fashion. In addition, I generally end up lighting the practical itself within the beam, causing it to be too "hot" or "lit". I am attempting to work with a scene where a lamp is right next to an actor on a desk, and cannot seem to figure out how to make this work. I could shoot from down low, so as to try and skip the fixture, but, considering the resulting "monster movie" appearance, I am pretty positive this is not a method employed with any frequency.

Again, any help is appreciated.

#2 Tom Jensen

Tom Jensen
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1234 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • Dallas, TX

Posted 03 April 2012 - 11:23 PM

Flag it off.

#3 robert duke

robert duke
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 438 posts
  • Grip
  • southeast USA

Posted 04 April 2012 - 08:28 AM

use a heavy diffusion on the lamp and flag it off the practical.

#4 Kevin Horn

Kevin Horn
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Saint Paul, Minnesota

Posted 15 April 2012 - 11:16 PM