#1 Moss Davis

Moss Davis

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 01 May 2012 - 10:27 AM

Hi just signed up to this forum in search of some helpfull tips and advice. I'm in my second year of a media diploma and am going to uni next year and our college has just been loaned the ikonoscop dii camera and some 16mm lenses, expensive stuff for a college! the bloke came over from Sweden I think and gave a talk too.

I am going be be the cinematographer on a music video in the coming months and would like to make this on of the best pieces in my showreel as i love the camera and the footage is stunning. But the although the couse has fantastic facilities it has not offered much in the way of practical cinematography and I know very little about lighting for music videos. Only some stuff from YouTube and the web, but i was wondering if you could ofer some advice on great lighting setups.

The music video will be shot on location with actors rather than a performance based video. I love the idea of backlighting the actors so light shines from behind and there is rim light on hair and such.

The man theme is sleep so a dream feel is what I'm trying to achieve, and then a darker feel for other parts.

Probably haven't given much information to help and I don't even know what lights I have available, not much I guess.

Where is the best place to start?!

Thanks
Moss

#2 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7118 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 01 May 2012 - 10:31 AM

Well if you're shooting at night; make sure that you wet down the streets to get some glint off of them.
Back lighting is great, but make sure you get a nice glint in the eyes ect.

Perhaps it's just because I watched it last night, but if you want to play with colors, I recommend watching the film Bullworth. It's got some really interesting colored lighting going on and great chromatic contrast built into most shots.