Rory McGuinness

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student

Posted 28 June 2012 - 03:15 PM

Hi everybody,

I'm a film student DPing a comedy project for the first time. Any recommendations for films to watch?

I'm know Gordon Willis' work with Woody Allen. And all the Hal Ashby films look beautiful to me (Willis, Alanzo, Chapman, Kovacs, Wexler, Deschanel). But I want to study as many different approaches as possible, and I'd appreciate any favorites you can throw out.

Also, feel free to spout off on your own personal theories about what to do/not-do with a camera when you're trying to make people laugh.

Thanks!

-Rory

#2 Phil Soheili

Phil Soheili
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Milan, Italy

Posted 02 July 2012 - 04:29 AM

Any recommendations for films to watch?

LA VIE DE BOHÈME
France/Italy/Sweden/Finnland 1992
Script and director: AKI KAURISKÄKI, DoPh: TIMO SALMINEN
FORMAT: 16:9 ANAMORPH · B/W · LENGTH: 98 MIN

;)

Cheers, Phil

#3 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19760 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 02 July 2012 - 07:03 AM

Besides the Woody Allen / Gordon Willis movies, check out "Local Hero" and "Comfort & Joy", shot by Chris Menges.