Looking for feedback on my firt reel

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Francis Richard Sylvain Girard

Francis Richard Sylvain Girard
  • Guests

Posted 19 July 2012 - 01:31 PM

Hey guys!

I would like to get some feedback on my showreel. I've worked with 35mm, 16mm and HD formats.

I really apreciate any critics or tips, as I graduated last year in cinema. And I am hoping to make a career in full lenght films as a cinematographer.

here is the link:

Thank you so much for watching!

#2 Bill DiPietra

Bill DiPietra
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2339 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • New York City

Posted 19 July 2012 - 03:42 PM

Hey guys!

I would like to get some feedback on my showreel. I've worked with 35mm, 16mm and HD formats.

I really apreciate any critics or tips, as I graduated last year in cinema. And I am hoping to make a career in full lenght films as a cinematographer.

here is the link:

Thank you so much for watching!

Not bad. The best shots were the ones where you had a dominant hue (e.g., red, blue, green, etc.) my favorite shot BY FAR was the long shot of the building with the warm sodium vapor street lighting. Second would be the ECU of what looked like very natural light falling on the kid's cheek (reminded me of some stuff I saw in The Tree of Life.)

On the negative end, the shots in the saloon and the backyard appeared very flat and didn't feel compelling at all. And there are some shots in the saloon and on the stage that are far too grainy and underexposed to keep in a reel.

I would also take out the in-camera double exposure. A first-semester film student can do that.

Edited by Bill DiPietra, 19 July 2012 - 03:43 PM.

#3 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7115 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 19 July 2012 - 04:14 PM