#1 Angela Dalberiste

Angela Dalberiste

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera

Posted 12 September 2012 - 11:37 AM

I am a cinematography student in California and will be shooting my thesis film in Nov. I am considering shooting my film 3 perf 35mm to save on film costs. Will shooting 3 perf require shooting with a special camera or will any 35mm camera do?

I guess my question is how does one shoot 3 perf?

-Thank you

#2 John Holland

John Holland
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2248 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • London England

Posted 12 September 2012 - 12:34 PM

You need a camera that has a 3 perf pull down the normal is/was 4 perf you can also get 2 perf but that needs the same mod.

#3 Chris Burke

Chris Burke
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1675 posts
  • Boston, MA

Posted 12 September 2012 - 12:45 PM

you will need a specific camera that has 3 perf. Check out www.indi35.com for an affordable 2 perf solution.

#4 Dom Jaeger

Dom Jaeger
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1599 posts
  • Other
  • Melbourne, Australia

Posted 12 September 2012 - 09:07 PM

4 perf Arricams and Moviecam Compacts can be easily converted to 3 perf if the rental house has the conversion kit. Check with your local rental houses.

#5 Jon Rosenbloom

Jon Rosenbloom
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 12 September 2012 - 10:01 PM

Plenty of 3 perf camera's around, just specify it with the rental house. Be aware that not only will making a release print be impractical, you won't even get a real lab report on your negative; you won't be able to check the image until it's transferred to video. (All the projectors are 4 perf.) Also, you have to be a little more vigilant about hairs in the gate because there's less room for error.

#6 Nate Opgenorth

Nate Opgenorth
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Camera Operator
  • Syracuse, NY

Posted 24 September 2012 - 05:13 PM