Photo

Advise on which lights to choose for a high-school classroom scene?

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 Albert Prior Fell

Albert Prior Fell

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student

Posted 16 September 2012 - 09:33 PM

As a newbie director I'm shooting a scene soon that takes place within a high school classroom. I know exactly all the elements I want and need except lighting because while I know (and have access to) different lights and technologies - I'm a novice when it comes to lighting and not 100% sold on what I should choose for my lighting plan to give my DP. Any opinions or recommendations are welcome provided you have a reason.

It's INT.DAY so I thought Daylight H.M.I's might work well, but would Tungsten HMI's be a better choice to get a classroomy aesthetic? I'm just curious... usually the overall aesthetic of a classroom can change depending on the mood (sometimes yellow, sometimes neutral/white/blue) and how old the students are. The uniforms will be white and so are the walls. The walls have colourful posters, the desks are light/medium brown and there are some nearby classroom elements like a bookshelf, white board, filing cabinet, clock, multiplication tables etc.

For my wide shot of extras/character I'm thinking maybe a soft cyclorama or an Open Face hard light, so it illuminates the background extras, wall elements and set dressing. At the moment I'm steering more toward the Hard light choice because while not everything is in focus, I still want to emulate a daytime classroom so I'd like everything to be illuminated.