New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Other
  • Florida

Posted 27 September 2012 - 05:02 PM

Hi,

We have just purchased a Canon 7d - the camera with the kit lens is on the way. One of the things that we would like to do with this camera is record my son's band presentation during high school (friday night) football games. Is it possible? If so, what lense should I strive to get to complete that project?

Thanks,

John

PS I'm really a novice camera user. I've been googling abbreviations and different lens nomenclature for the past week. I'm hoping that one of you experts in the field would give me an idea.

#2 Michael M Frankel

Michael M Frankel

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gaffer
  • Houston, Texas

Posted 27 September 2012 - 08:36 PM

If you are new to shooting video on a DSLR then I recommend that you shoot as wide (28mm to 35mm, no more than 50mm) and as stopped down (f/8.0+) as you can to keep your depth of field deep so that you don't miss any of the action.

If you ever used a regular consumer video camcorder before which has VERY deep depth of field you might be really surprised how shallow your footage is with a DSLR.

Make sure you familiarize yourself with the camera well before your shoot and take as much test footage in a similar conditions that you will be shooting the real games in.

Most foot ball games are played in pretty well lit stadiums/fields so you probably won't have to bump your ISO up too much but for the application you are using it for I would recommend around 640/800 but no higher than 1250.

You may be tempted to shoot telephoto to zoom into the action but at 135mm (the stock lens zoomed all the way in) even with IS (image stabilization) you are going to have some really shaky footage unless you are really experienced at composing a shot on the fly and holding on to it.