#1 Bojan Bojovic

Bojan Bojovic

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student

Posted 13 October 2012 - 01:43 PM

Hello everyone,I am a professional musician, and music producer, but now I want to create a music video for my music.I am on the budget, money is the problem as always, and I want to find some solution for good light for my ideas, and I am thinking to use some 500W work lights, and to make barndoors by myself.There is a lot of talks on the internet, but I can not find anywhere is it actually working, and can I get that strong black & white look with this 500W work light, all that contrast and sharp shadows.Is there anyone who can tell me is it possible to make a good noir look video with this kid of light?
I have Nikon D3100, 18-105, 55-300, 50mm f1.8, and tripod.
You can see the images of the work light, and the look I want to get.

39396_0a.jpeg 3289448299_d657bd770d.jpeg

I would like to apologize, first because of my broken English, and then because I'm an ignoramus who gets involved in a serious topic.

#2 Kevin W Wilson

Kevin W Wilson
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Film Loader
  • Atlanta, GA

Posted 17 October 2012 - 08:43 PM

The noir look of the 40's is a very difficult look to emulate. Certainly not impossible but it takes a tremendous amount of skill to create, noir is really almost a mood more than a look. The camera you shoot on is completely irrelevant to noir.