#1 Tom Ham

Tom Ham

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Director

Posted 24 December 2012 - 12:02 PM

Hey, i am new to super 8mm, and just bought myself a Elmo 110.

I also bought a few Vision3 200T carts.

Now in the ELMO 110 manual is says that i have:
Daylight: 25,40,64,100,160 ASA
Tung:40,64,100,160,250

Now i am pretty sure the camera doesnt have the 85 filter notch system. So il have to place the 85 filter myself.
My question is, how should i expose this? If i use auto exposure will it work in order(giving that the camera works in order). Or will it over or under expose, and if so, by how many stops?

Any help is appreciated!

Thank You

#2 Tom Ham

Tom Ham

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Director

Posted 24 December 2012 - 12:03 PM

Forgot to add something. Most footage will be shot in the sun!

#3 Paul Bartok

Paul Bartok
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 223 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 24 December 2012 - 01:44 PM

Tungsten (3200K) - 200 ASA

Daylight- 125 ASA (with 85 filter)
I wouldn't trust the auto exposure too much on older cameras like that with a Filter in front of it.
Do it manually, now Im not sure If your camera has a ASA setting that corresponds to exposure?
But if so punch in 100ASA and put on your 85 filter. the difference would be a 1/3 stop which is barely anything better to
slightly underexpose then over expose.

Otherwise you can retime the scan in post to match 5600K.
You should read the following document:

http://motion.kodak....data/TI5213.pdf

#4 Paul Bartok

Paul Bartok
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 223 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 24 December 2012 - 01:46 PM

The 85 filter ASA is based on 180 shutter and 24fps.

#5 Chris Burke

Chris Burke
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1675 posts
  • Boston, MA

Posted 27 December 2012 - 10:03 AM