Photo

Protecting blacks with RED Epic (and other digital cameras)

red epic exposure protecting shadows selective exposure high contrast

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Alex Mansfield

Alex Mansfield

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Other
  • London, UK

Posted 03 April 2013 - 03:59 PM

Hi all,

Wanted to get some advice and thoughts on the best way to approach lighting and shooting a scene with selective exposure.

I want to partially expose a shot, and keep other parts in shadow. This is for a dramatic short in which that sort of low-key and contrasty lighthing will best reflect the mood. My concern is protecting the blacks in the shadows from noise. I will be using RED Epic.

Any input would be greatly appreciated as I am still learning.

Many thanks,

Alex

#2 Brian Drysdale

Brian Drysdale
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5070 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 03 April 2013 - 05:16 PM

You need to use your full name, it's one of the forum rules.

#3 Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4708 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Europe

Posted 03 April 2013 - 05:25 PM

Hi all,

Wanted to get some advice and thoughts on the best way to approach lighting and shooting a scene with selective exposure.

I want to partially expose a shot, and keep other parts in shadow. This is for a dramatic short in which that sort of low-key and contrasty lighthing will best reflect the mood. My concern is protecting the blacks in the shadows from noise. I will be using RED Epic.

Any input would be greatly appreciated as I am still learning.

Many thanks,

Alex

The shadows will only become noisy if you try to brighten the image. Ideally don't compress more than 5:1

#4 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19769 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 03 April 2013 - 05:31 PM