Sridhar Kumar K

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Director

Posted 20 April 2013 - 03:45 AM

Hi:

I shot by footage in RED MX. I brought that to FCP in 1920 x 1080. 

For color correcting, I am planning to send from FCP to Apple Color. I am hearing from people that it would be best if I use the raw file 4K instead of 1920 x 1080 footage. 

If I go with the 1920 x 1080 FCP file and not the raw footage, will the color correction look good? Is it a noticeable difference between color correcting RAW file and 1920 x 1080 file.

Mine is a 25 minute short film. Main purpose of this film is to send it to film festivals. So I am assuming my projection is going to be a regular theatre and not 4K projection.

Thanks

#2 Tony Muna

Tony Muna
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • 2nd Assistant Camera

Posted 21 April 2013 - 12:14 AM

I'm no expert but the last time I colored in FCP on transcoded files, it came out with noticeable blocks in the shadows. Tried both transcoded redlogfilm and rg3/rc3.

Since I don't have cs5.5 and up, the way i avoid tjose artifacts, I cut in fcp and export the XML back to rcx or davinci lite.

Would also love to hear what expert recommend since my experience is purely amateur.

#3 Mike Lary

Mike Lary
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 472 posts
  • Other

Posted 21 April 2013 - 11:21 PM

By transcoding and dropping your resolution you're throwing away a ridiculous amount of data. You should always grade from the raw data. If that's not possible at least do a primary correction in REDcineX before you transcode.

#4 Paul Salmons

Paul Salmons
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 23 April 2013 - 01:15 PM

If your shooting MX and editing off the proxies (not transcoded files) if I'm not mistaken the files will automatically link up to the raws as 2k files. I have never done this but I recently did some research on the whole online process and I'm pretty sure I read that.  

#5 Phil Rhodes