#1 Andrew Sutherland

Andrew Sutherland

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 28 May 2013 - 01:52 PM

I recently acquired from a friend an ARRI IIC w/three lens turret. It has a hand grip motor (3 pin XLR connection) and another 3 pin XLR connection on the body. I have been searching the forums and I haven't been able to find information mentioning an ARRI IIC w/ a 3 pin XLR, I have no manual. I have no knowledge of operating film cameras but would like to give it a test run. I understand I will need a 16.8V DC battery, the issue is with connections and charger - It seems these items are easy enough to acquire individually but not in a simple package. Can anyone recommend a site that sells batteries that will include a 3 pin XLR connection w/ a charger that will have a UK plug [the large majority of cine accessory websites are American and I would prefer not to have a 17v battery charging through an international adapter). 

Also;

As there is a female XLR on both the body and the hand grip, which should the battery connect to? What are the reasons for connecting the power to body vs motor? Thanks.

Edited by Andrew Sutherland, 28 May 2013 - 01:53 PM.

#2 Andrew Sutherland

Andrew Sutherland

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 28 May 2013 - 02:01 PM

Correction: The hand motor is a 3 pin connection - the body has a 6 pin XLR connection.

#3 Dom Jaeger

Dom Jaeger
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1605 posts
  • Other
  • Melbourne, Australia

Posted 29 May 2013 - 12:56 AM

Some 2Cs had a 6 pin (Tuchel) socket on the body used for Pilotone. The motor socket is the one you want to supply power to. 3 pin XLRs were traditionally used for 24V applications though. Is it possible it's a 24V motor? A photo would help.

The standard 3 pin XLR wiring is almost always pin 1 negative, pin 2 positive - very simple to solder an XLR on the end of a battery cable.