11 replies to this topic

#1 Mustafa Umut Sarac

Mustafa Umut Sarac
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts
  • Other

Posted 13 July 2013 - 06:47 PM

I am watching BBC and PBS Antique Roadshow programs from internet and tv. I am just a photographer and have some Leicas and know about seeing image quality.

I dont know why but 90s editions have a Dutch Painting Quality Light spreaded everywhere. Images looks so stable and noise free. There is noone looks like a oily bright skin and close ups are catalog quality.

What is responsible for noise free , rock steady images , elegant colors and the elegant light spread ?

Why no more ? What kind of cameras and lenses they were using. Is VHS or BETA recording have a impact on quality ?

How someone accomplish such a quality with post processing ?

Thank you,

Umut

#2 Stuart Brereton

Stuart Brereton
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3074 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 13 July 2013 - 07:18 PM

BBC Antiques Roadshow in the 90s would have been shot on DigiBeta probably with Canon ENG zooms. It's possible that parts of it were shot on DV-Cam.

It's a magazine type programme that typically shot a 30 min episode in a couple of days. It certainly wasn't ever regarded as having high production values or looking particularly good.

#3 Phil Rhodes

Phil Rhodes
  • Sustaining Members
  • 11944 posts
  • Other

Posted 13 July 2013 - 08:25 PM

Didn't they used to take out studio cameras on that and iso them all on a truck?

#4 Stuart Brereton

Stuart Brereton
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3074 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 13 July 2013 - 09:12 PM

Didn't they used to take out studio cameras on that and iso them all on a truck?

Possibly. I could be confusing that show with one of the other 400 Antiques shows the BBC has...

Tech specs would have been the same though.

#5 Mustafa Umut Sarac

Mustafa Umut Sarac
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 30 posts
  • Other