Jen Priester

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Camera Operator

Posted 15 August 2013 - 01:00 PM

Hello everyone!

I am a newborn photographer and looking to expand into learning the video on my camera. I shoot in manual and RAW, and have run a professional business for 2 1/2 years now. I'm excited to start reading on here, so much info! Can anyone point me in the right direction on what to read/study so I can learn? I am assuming since I know how to use my DSLRs that I would have some background knowledge. I have a nikon d700 and d800-the 800 has the video on it.

Thanks in advance!

#2 Brian Drysdale

Brian Drysdale
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 5070 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 15 August 2013 - 03:08 PM

You could check out this book: http://www.cinematog...showtopic=51226

Also, look at the other books in that section. http://www.cinematog...p?showforum=107 Books on lighting are worthwhile reading in depth..

It's also important to understand the grammar of film and the process of editing, because you're providing the material for the editor to tell whatever story is being told.

#3 Phil Rhodes

Phil Rhodes
  • Sustaining Members
  • 11937 posts
  • Other

Posted 15 August 2013 - 05:06 PM

Frankly I think a stills photographer is starting off from a better place than someone who's a "film person" and has eyes full of major blockbusters! I always tell beginners to read still photography magazines as the advice is much more relevant - they tend to talk about lighting technique, framing, and composition, as opposed to which camera has the biggest number in some sort of specification. Partly this is because stills cameras have long since reached maturity.

That said, Brian is of course exactly right and there will be a need to understand the process of covering a scene, creating matching shots, and generally producing a suite of material that is actually editable. This is something which doesn't really exist in stills work.