No replies to this topic

#1 John1

John1
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 46 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 23 January 2014 - 01:11 PM

I really need help and advice from people who are elders in cinematography. I am a college student in my early 20s studying Microbiology. Cinematography has been my passion for long and I know microbiology is not really what I want to do, it shooting, I want to do, it is in me. My passion for it has kept me awake all night and day, searching for information here and there all over the internet reading any and all cinematography books that comes my way, training myself, learning about cameras and how they work, learning of all the basic rules of cinematography, watching videos on youtube. In total I have read more than a 1000pages of books on cinematography and I dnt seem to ever get tired. I just feel more hungry for cinematography knowledge. My main point of interest is I want to direct and shoot music videos but in the course of reading and research, I discovered cinematography was wider than I think. Please pardon me for the long story. I have read many books and they are so self explanatory that I feel they are as simple as they are written. I have short some short videos with basic consumer cameras howver, I got my first official video job not quite long and it was a commercial like a presentaion. I decided I wanted us to use whitescreen and we did. I was even lucky to be provided with a canon 7D free of charge but when it was time to practicalise everything I have learned over the months, everything changed. First it was whitebalance. I have read so much about white balance that I know that if you want to get the best white balance, u need to switch off the auto white balance and go manual. However was I settin the white balance, I seem to notice no difference(I don't know if its my eyes that is not sharp not to notice any diffrnce. Any valie I set the white balance to seem to looks fine and ok to me, which I know shouldn'