#1 Peter Bitic

Peter Bitic
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Student

Posted 24 June 2014 - 11:55 AM

Hey everyone,

I am an aspiring filmmaker, primarily interested in screenwriting and directing, but since I have a plan to shoot the first couple of shorts on my own, I am also trying to teach myself the basics of cinematography.

I am afraid the following question is probably really thrivial, but I haven't found an answer just googling for it.

18% gray cards have a RGB value of 119, 119, 119, so when you make a picture with correctly exposed gray card in it, the resulting pixels that form the card should have approximately the same values, right?

The first picture below is the photo as I shot it. To me it seems too dark, but when I inspected the pixels of the gray card, the RGB reading indicated that the gray card and therefore the top of the stump was actually overexposed (157,159,159). I had to lower the exposure by 0.85 to get the values of approximately 119. The end result (second picture) really seems way too dark to me.

image.jpg

image.jpg

I am asking because I am not sure if I am really understanding how exposing using a gray card works. So far I have always just used it in combination with spot meter and been satisfied with results, but I have never fixed exposure in post based on the card in the picture.  Am I doing it right (and the stump should look so dark when correctly exposed), or have I misunderstood something?

Thanks a lot for any respones.

#2 John E Clark

John E Clark
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 846 posts
  • Other
  • San Diego

Posted 24 June 2014 - 12:32 PM

Hey everyone,

I am an aspiring filmmaker, primarily interested in screenwriting and directing, but since I have a plan to shoot the first couple of shorts on my own, I am also trying to teach myself the basics of cinematography.

I am afraid the following question is probably really thrivial, but I haven't found an answer just googling for it.