#1 Benji Crumpler

Benji Crumpler

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student

Posted 30 October 2014 - 12:35 AM

Hello I am a new member to these forums.  I am a student shooting a documentary as my thesis film. We intended to shoot on film, but cost was an obstacle we could not overcome.  As such, we are resigned to shooting the film digitally.

However, we do not like the look of modern HD digital cameras (5D, 7D, EX1, etc).  We do however like the look of some of the 'Dogme 95' ruleset films, which were shot on very early video cameras of the mid-90s/early-2000s.

Examples include (among others):

- The Celebration (Sony DCR-PC3)

- Julien Donkey-Boy (Canon XL-1)

- The Idiots (Sony DCR-VX1000)

I noticed these movies looked more like film than video.  They are not as sharp, sterile.  They have a softer look that reminds me more of super 8mm or 16mm film.  Did these filmmakers do anything special with these cameras (with lens choices, post production tricks, etc) to achieve these looks?  Is this just the look those old video cameras had?

Thank you

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 18789 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 30 October 2014 - 12:56 AM

A number of these films were shot in PAL video (50i) and transferred to 35mm for theatrical release, and that 35mm film was transferred back to video later. They aren't sharp because they were standard definition video.

If you want a more film-like quality, I would stick to a modern digital camera that does 24P/25P and just use softer lenses, diffusion, and/or post software that adds film grain to the image.