#1 Gareth Munden

Gareth Munden
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 137 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • London UK

Posted 06 May 2005 - 08:32 AM

Hi , I'm a still photographer starting too shoot moving stuff . I've done 2 shorts on Mini DV , which is great but I wanna use film ( it's what I'm used to in my photography ) . I'm thinking of getting a 16mm Camera and have a play , maybe shoot a short . Tell me is a Krasnogorsk-3 a good place to start ? what are the pros and cons ? and can I use any M42 lens , even 35mm still lenses ( thay are almost giving them away here int the UK ) .

Thanks everyone .

Gareth Munden , London . UK .

#2 Richard Boddington

Richard Boddington
  • Sustaining Members
  • 5482 posts
  • Director

Posted 06 May 2005 - 09:54 AM

The K-3 is an excellent choice. It's not just a beginners camera, it has been used to shoot feature films. Spike Lee used the K-3 on one of his films.

It's very easy to use and comes with a decent zoom lens. There are a few tricks to loading you need to be aware of.

I have owned one for 10 years and although I rarely use it now, it has served me well on several shoots.

R.

#3 Gareth Munden

Gareth Munden
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 137 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • London UK

Posted 06 May 2005 - 10:15 AM

The K-3 is an excellent choice.  It's not just a beginners camera, it has been used to shoot feature films.  Spike Lee used the K-3 on one of his films.

It's very easy to use and comes with a decent zoom lens.  There are a few tricks to loading you need to be aware of.

I have owned one for 10 years and although I rarely use it now, it has served me well on several shoots.

R.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Thanks Richard , is the camera complete manual ? I seems to have a light meter ( which is prob of not much use ) .

#4 Timothy Brown

Timothy Brown
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Other

Posted 06 May 2005 - 10:21 AM