#1 GregBest

GregBest
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Director
  • West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Posted 06 December 2014 - 11:49 AM

I'm doing the cliched run down dark hall toward camera with bright spot light behind.  There will be a few flashlight LEDs on the walls, and 3 cheap rotating police lights that are no very bright.

Being a new amateur filmmaker, I'm unsure how to keep it all in focus shooting alone.  I know my f1.4 lens will be too small DOF, and cranking it up to f10 will be too dark, so I thought I'd reach out for other ideas?   Adding light isn't my option since I don't have any and I want dark shadows as well.  I've got a toy fog machine I have never fired up yet, and that might enhance the effect, but I worry about triggering smoke alarms.

But I think FOCUS will be my real problem - maybe focus for the end of the run?  The shot will end up maybe 2-3 seconds max (and that might be too long) and, although transitions scenes, is really designed for me to screw around with my camera and learn something.

Any trick I am not thinking of to get larger stretch of focus in a dark hall?

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 18786 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 06 December 2014 - 12:05 PM

At minimum, if you are operating, get someone to try and pull focus for you. Do some practice runs.

#3 GregBest

GregBest
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Director

Posted 06 December 2014 - 01:30 PM

That is probably the only realistic answer, but I am shooting wholly alone.  :)  I think physics is against what I think I want to do.  I'll try a few different lens and go with whatever is closest to working.  

#4 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 18786 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 06 December 2014 - 04:02 PM

You can't just get a friend to stand next to the camera and pull focus on that shot???

#5 GregBest

GregBest
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip