Photo

Are filters used all the time or only for specific occasions?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 scott karos

scott karos
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 41 posts
  • Director

Posted 18 January 2015 - 10:26 AM

I've never used filters before and want to experiment with them for the first time. After doing a little research on the internet it seems that they are essential to achieving certain looks.

Are they used all the time on professional shoots? Or are they sort of a last resort thing, where we only use them when we need to?

#2 Brian Drysdale

Brian Drysdale
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4743 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 18 January 2015 - 11:21 AM

There are many types of filters, but filters of some sort are used on nearly every professional production. The most common are neutral density filters or ND filters, which are used to reduce the amount of light. Even a production that appears to use no filters may have used these filers to control the exposure, either on the whole frame or part of the frame. ND filters are so important that many cameras have them built into the camera.

Filters can also be used for colour correction, especially on film, but digital and video cameras may also use them instead of using a white balance.

Filters are a creative tool that can be used to create a particular look. Many of these looks can now be achieved in post, but many cinematographers do like having the control of creating things in the camera.

There are so many available it's best to look through a manufacturer's web site:

http://tiffen.com/tiffen-filters/

https://www.schneide...lay.aspx?CID=56

https://www.formatt-.../filters~4.html

#3 Neal Norton

Neal Norton
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Tampa, Florida

Posted 18 January 2015 - 12:19 PM

The short answer is "yes" filters are used on almost all shoots.

What filters are used is dependant on the job and the desired 'look'.