2 replies to this topic

#1 Berker Taşkıran

Berker Taşkıran
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
  • Student

Posted 08 May 2015 - 03:00 PM

Hello. I am 25, I live in Turkey, I currently study film in a university in my first year. I haven't shot anything, not even a short film. I have zero experience. I wrote one short screenplay, and writing one short and one feature screenplays. I have many other ideas I haven't scriptized yet. I believe I am a very creative person. I want to be a writer director. I was planning on shooting my first short film this summer, with my university friends. I believe it can be very good. So I was seeking ways to gain experience and a few days ago I met a tv director, thanks to a mutual friend. He is willing to set me up an intership in a film or tv set by asking his fellow director friends. There is no certain info. But we're talking about 6 am to 11 pm a full week 8 weeks of work. I know in Hollywood most films take a few months to shoot but in my country most films probably take 2 weeks. So if it's 8 weeks it's probably a tv set. And an episode of a tv show in my country is about 120 minutes. Yes, this is not a typo. I have no car of my own and it will probably take at least 1 hour to travel to and from set. So if this 6 am 11 pm thing becomes constant I won't even have time to sleep. What I have in mind is to ask him that if he can find me a job that's at most 4 weeks. So even at worst case scenario it will last only 1 month and then I will be done with it. As far as I'm concerned 1 or 2 weeks is probably all I need to fully get what's going on on a set. And I don't have any aim to do my work in my country so making connections or acquiring any positions is no concern. I really value my free time and I want to shoot my short film this summer so 8 weeks will probably be not good for me. But at the same time I don't want to miss this opportunity and I am not sure without seeing such a place I will be comfortable. I don't think I