#1 Matthew Macomber

Matthew Macomber

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 10 June 2015 - 12:45 AM

I'm an owner-operator videographer/DP about to spring for an M8 to compliment my M18. I've noticed the M18 is a popular rental item and common to see on your average production. I've yet to see an M8 on set though. Nor can I find ANY information or reviews online. Why is that? No love for the "little blinder"?

Maybe it's because the M8 is fairly new? A year and a half old or so, I think? I still would've thought there'd be some talk about it.

Anyway, let me know what ya'll think about the M8. I love my M18 and don't see why the M8 would disappoint.

#2 Matthew Macomber

Matthew Macomber

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 10 June 2015 - 12:55 AM

Whoops, my mistake, I accidentally posted this in the wrong section. Sorry. Mod, please delete this.

#3 Matthew Parnell

Matthew Parnell
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 285 posts
  • Electrician
  • Brisbane, Australia

Posted 26 May 2016 - 08:04 AM

At the 800w size, I would be looking at a joker bug instead of the M8, particularly now with the Beamer. Add a bit of chimera lantern kit (octopus, pancake, etc) and the joker becomes a very versatile piece of kit.

#4 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 7118 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 26 May 2016 - 04:42 PM

I like the M8 quite a bit and would take it over a Joker anytime (as I am not a Joker fan personally) but it's a matter of taste and often what's on the truck. I don't normally get too much into the Minutia of which head we pull I just want X Light in Y position for Z look.

#5 JD Hartman

JD Hartman
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1690 posts
  • Gaffer
  • Edison, N.J. U.S.A.

Posted 26 May 2016 - 06:07 PM