#1 Kenny Williams

Kenny Williams
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 19 posts
  • Student
  • Sacramento California

Posted 23 July 2015 - 11:52 AM

Hey everyone I'm currently doing pre production on a short filming I'm making for school at the end of the year. Right now I'm looking to hire key crew. My teacher told me about a graduate from the school that I'm going to that I should hire as my DP. I've been talking to him a little bit he seems interested. My question is I've never done this before so when is the appropriate time to bring up money? I just don't know how to work into the conversation how much his rate is.

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 18789 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 23 July 2015 - 12:43 PM

I think you have to figure out an overall budget first to know what everyone's rate can be on some sort of tiered scale and then tell your cinematographer what you can afford.

#3 joshua gallegos

joshua gallegos
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • Student

Posted 26 July 2015 - 01:47 PM

Just write him a bad check and hope he doesn't cash it until you've wrapped filming.

#4 Mark Dunn

Mark Dunn
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2182 posts
  • Other
  • London

Posted 27 July 2015 - 05:15 AM

Now we know who not to take a cheque from.

#5 Robin R Probyn

Robin R Probyn
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1039 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Tokyo

Posted 27 July 2015 - 07:04 AM

Just write him a bad check and hope he doesn't cash it until you've wrapped filming.

hehe.. and that you have a lot of big projects coming up.. and scripts in with Universal..  your people will reach out to him and you can do breakfast at The Standard.. 

Edited by Robin R Probyn, 27 July 2015 - 07:05 AM.

#6 Bill DiPietra

Bill DiPietra
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2262 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • New York City

Posted 27 July 2015 - 11:37 AM