Dillon S. Green

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • P.A.
  • Atlanta

Posted 20 August 2015 - 09:53 AM

I’d like to start by saying hey and thank you for taking the time to read my post. I’m a long time reader and lover of this site and figured it was a good time to ask for some advice. I am a recent graduate who moved out to the Atlanta area within the last year. My intentions were to work in an area where I could comfortably start as a Digital Utility and move forward as I learned more, however it seems to have come to my attention that a lot of the camera crews here seem to be being brought over from wherever the Cinematographer is from. In most of my cases has been from LA. It’s come to the decision making point of if I will end up chasing the camera path or if I will work my way through the electric path where the work seems more plentiful. 

I would like to take this time to ask the forum member and Cinematographers their opinion on a decision such as this, and for any advice that my push towards the right direction. Thank you for everything.

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 18788 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 20 August 2015 - 11:35 AM

I did a feature in Atlanta in February and the only person I brought from L.A. was an operator who could do Steadicam as well.  On my previous pilot shoot in Atlanta the whole camera crew was local.  So I think there is plenty of work there for camera people.

#3 Dillon S. Green

Dillon S. Green

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • P.A.
  • Atlanta

Posted 20 August 2015 - 09:07 PM

Thank you for your insight. It has been something that I had seen on some of the shoots that I had gotten on to. I figured it would be better safe than sorry when it came to jumping on to the union path. It is definitely pleasant to hear that locals are being an option. 

#4 Tyler Purcell

Tyler Purcell
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2352 posts
  • Other
  • Los Angeles