Sander Ferdinand
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Other
  • The Netherlands

Posted 20 October 2015 - 09:47 PM

Hello guys,

First of all, good to see people still use s16mm!

I have been thinking about shooting my own short film on 16mm and wondered if I could use my 35mm photo camera to prepare some shots for it.

Will my photo camera (Canon A-1), loaded with 500 ASA, a 50mm lens (prime) on 2.8T yield roughly the same results as a Aaton XTR (s16mm) loaded with Vision3 500T and a 50mm at 2.8T (some zoom lens) in terms of lighting. I understand that the colors/grain/DOF/distortion and such would be different. The goal is to get a rough estimation for my exposures to rule out the possibility of wasting precious film stock on ruined shots (Too dark, too bright).

As a beginner, I will be practicing lighting/shadows in certain conditions. When the time comes I will be using a lightmeter as well of course, but having the shots planned a little beforehand allows me to get the look I am going for and giving me confidence in the end result.

Thanks,

Sander

Edited by Sander Ferdinand, 20 October 2015 - 09:59 PM.

#2 Dirk DeJonghe

Dirk DeJonghe
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 622 posts
  • Industry Rep
  • Kortrijk,Belgium

Posted 20 October 2015 - 10:52 PM

Sander, in order to get confident in using the exposure meter I suggest you read Ansel Adams 'The Negative'. It is about B&W photography but 100 % applicable to motion picture. 

#3 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 20467 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 20 October 2015 - 11:32 PM

Yes, shooting the same MP stock in an 8-perf 35mm still camera, processed the same way (ECN2 not C41), would teach you about exposing for Super-16 if you match the f-stop and shutter speed (usually 1/50th to get close to the 1/48th shutter time of a 24 fps camera with a 180 degree shutter angle.)