Union vs. Non- Union; Or Fair vs. Unfair

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Gregory Irwin

Gregory Irwin
  • Sustaining Members
  • 527 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • Work is based in Los Angeles but I live elsewhere.

Posted 21 November 2015 - 11:18 PM

This is a carryover from the Spectre thread.

Here is my point of view on this: We can be the best cinematographer, camera operator, grip or whatever. We still need to be a businessman as well. After all, we work in the film INDUSTRY! We work in Show BUSINESS!!! Without having an involvement in the business side of affairs, what do you expect? I earn my value because of several things. For one thing, I am educated and I paid for my college education. I have a degree in Cinema and I also have 3 degrees in Business. I have mastered my craft and I run a very balanced and disciplined business as well. I am the CEO of me and that's how I approach my career. And yes, Gregg McPherson, I do live in a gated, California community. I've earned that. I work myself to the bone at times so I can enjoy the other parts of life. Don't hate the union. Ask yourself if you have managed yourself properly. I believe this topic is not really about Union or non Union but rather about who takes advantage of their value at their craft and then who struggles. All of us have the same opportunities to do well. I knew no one in this industry and fought my way in.

G

#2 Adrian Sierkowski

Adrian Sierkowski
  • Sustaining Members
  • 6767 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles, Ca

Posted 22 November 2015 - 12:10 AM