#1 Macks Fiiod

Macks Fiiod
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 428 posts
  • Director
  • OG from DC, Now in NJ

Posted 13 February 2016 - 03:37 PM

So just shot my first short with the PMW F3. I'm completely new to a camera designed for video (as opposed to DSLR) and was wondering if I was doing anything glaringly wrong as far as dealing with exposure, shutter, s-log, etc.

Recorded to a Atomos Samurai Blade in 422 HQ, final render is in 720p (was never concerned with big resolutions on YT)

https://www.youtube....h?v=_weSRRwGRX4

Thanks for your thoughts.

#2 Satsuki Murashige

Satsuki Murashige
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3081 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • San Francisco, CA

Posted 13 February 2016 - 08:42 PM

I don't see anything particularly wrong with exposure, shutter, or gamma choices. I think the framing, lensing, lighting, choice of location, and art direction could be improved. But I don't think there's anything wrong with your camera or your workflow.

#3 Macks Fiiod

Macks Fiiod
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 428 posts
  • Director
  • OG from DC, Now in NJ

Posted 16 February 2016 - 02:56 PM

I don't see anything particularly wrong with exposure, shutter, or gamma choices. I think the framing, lensing, lighting, choice of location, and art direction could be improved. But I don't think there's anything wrong with your camera or your workflow.

Could you give just a slight elaboration on each of those shortcomings if you have the time? I agree that certain things are lacking in those, but I just want to see if the critique I have of my own work aligns with the general consensus so I can feel on the right track.

#4 Satsuki Murashige

Satsuki Murashige
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3081 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • San Francisco, CA

Posted 16 February 2016 - 07:00 PM

Sure thing.