I'm new to super 8 please help me haha

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Kenny

Kenny
  • Guests

Posted 01 June 2005 - 11:51 PM

Hi i make bodyboarding dvd's and i'm keen as to get right into super 8. I just bought a Braun Nizo 801 which i'll be getting in about a week. I got a Eumig 604 projector today and got my first roll of super 8 working yewwww.

Now i'm pretty sure the projector isn't a variable speed one, the footage is a bit flickery. How do i get ride of the flicker? Will my bruan nizo stop the flickering, or is it my projector? or is it how i filmed it onto my digital video cam (Sony PD170)? I tryed filming it with a 50 sutter speed and a 25 sutter speed.

Thanks any help will be much appreciated!!!!

#2 Kenny

Kenny
  • Guests

Posted 02 June 2005 - 02:04 AM

If i film at 24fps and get a new projector that can project at 24fps, will this stop the flickering??

#3 John Hyde

John Hyde
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Camera Operator

Posted 02 June 2005 - 03:04 AM

If i film at 24fps and get a new projector that can project at 24fps, will this stop the flickering??

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

You must use a projector with variable speed. Setting it to about 20 fps will cut back the flicker. However this method will typically leave you with a poor quality transfer - washed out and soft looking. Speed will also be a bit off.

When you are ready to do a good transfer, I suggest you try ranking it on a professional telecine. Excellent results at a good rate may be found here: www.spectrafilmandvideo.com

You should balance the cost of upgrading to a variable speed projector, quality loss and time spent against having it done someplace.

#4 Kenny

Kenny
  • Guests

Posted 02 June 2005 - 04:28 AM

You must use a projector with variable speed. Setting it to about 20 fps will cut back the flicker. However this method will typically leave you with a poor quality transfer - washed out and soft looking. Speed will also be a bit off.