Photo

Expert Sound Advice Wanted For Next Film.

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Eric F Adams

Eric F Adams
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 33 posts
  • Other
  • St. Francisville, Louisiana

Posted 02 March 2016 - 10:55 AM

I will try and make this brief so I will not bore you.  I shot a feature film a year or two ago and it went well, but I need to improve my sound.  I self funded the film.  No paid crew or no paid actors.  I shot it on Super 16mm.  Despite the limitations, the film went great and I plan to do another one.  

In my film, I had one sound person.  My wife.  lol.   She is an RN by trade, but we have studied quite a bit on mic placement and positioning, so I don't want to replace my free labor.   

I use a boom mic throughout the whole film.  These are my 3 components.  

1) Audio Technica AT875R Line & Gradient CondenserMicrophone.

2) Sound Devices MM-1 Single Channel Portable Microphone Preamp.

3) Zoom H4N Handy Reconder.

That is my setup.  Mic on Boom Pole > Preamp > H4N.  Then I download my wave files from the H4N onto computer and I edit in FCP.

My questions/concerns.  I want to improve sound for next film, but I can't scratch and start over with a whole new sound set-up.  Keep my micro budget in mind.  If these 3 components are good? Then what should I have my preamp settings on?  Should I replace one of these components?  If so, what? And what should I get?  Not sure if I can replace two components due to $$.  I realize I need improvement but just lack the funds to go all out.  I could and would definitely drop a few hundred if need be to get the most out of the above setup.  Any advice wanted.  Thank-you.  Eric.   

#2 Chris Burke

Chris Burke
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1516 posts
  • Boston, MA

Posted 04 March 2016 - 05:15 PM

Usually actors are wearing wires and are boomed. I would get a better mixer. Record at 48/24 bwav minimum. If you can, get a second person to work with your wife.

#3 Macks Fiiod