Cosmas Demetriou
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Other
  • United States

Posted 03 March 2016 - 04:43 PM

Hello, Cinematography.com members.

You have been so helpful in the past that I want to ask another question.

I am a set designer going to a location on Monday (downtown Boston) and I want to use Artemis on my iPhone to see what the camera will see. We will be filming an action sequence on a prominent street with brownstones. We don't know yet what our camera platform will be but wondering if I set my platform to Super 35mm Panavision Genesis what would be a good range of lenses to cover for?  From wide angle (but not extreme wide angle) to "normal" (if that is a term that is used any more.) What I'm concerned about is "what is the widest that the camera might see."

Wondering if the concept of a "Normal lens" still exists?  I thought it was the point where a wide angle lens becomes a  telephoto.  In 35mm still photography, I believe, it's the 50mm lens but wondering if the term is used any more.

Thank you.

#2 Mark Kenfield

Mark Kenfield
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 717 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Melbourne, Australia

Posted 03 March 2016 - 05:39 PM

Well a very standard range of focal lengths for a five-lens set of primes would be something like: 18mm, 25mm, 35mm, 50mm, 85mm

And that range would cover you for the vast majority of needs, wide to telephoto. 

#3 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 18789 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 03 March 2016 - 05:42 PM

I think the camera in the iPhone itself is something around a 27mm in terms of 35mm cine terms, so you won't see wider than that.