Sebastien Scandiuzzi
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 35 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Seattle

Posted 16 July 2016 - 12:24 AM

Hi Everyone! 

The feature I've shot is about to go to the colorist and I have never worked with a professional colorist before so I'm looking for advice. I have a pretty good understanding of the basics of color, timing and correction through coloring most of my own work with Color, Speedgrade and/or Resolve. I guess technically I've worked with colorists before but my input was minimal and any suggestions I made, weren't in the final cut. I want to make sure I get the most out of this opportunity and any suggestions or advice would be great.

Just a few 'facts': This is a lower budget independent film, there is a post budget but its not significant, something around $20-30K. We do have a colorist onboard but didnt have a DIT onset (no custom LUT either), just a data wrangler. We shot raw with an Alexa. Mostly exteriors with available light. Film is set in 1970's.

I know DP's will give the colorist still frames of scenes with detailed notes and I plan on doing this but is the expectation that the colorist will make each adjustment or just take the notes into consideration? Is it more helpful to do a pass myself and bring that for our fist meeting? How much back and forth is there? I was told I would be in the room with the colorist by the director, does that mean overseeing each adjustment or is there a meeting beforehand and then you come back for notes? Are color palettes helpful and should you have one for each different scene/location? With this being a lower budget independent film, are power windows a realistic expectation or only for significant problems? Ok, dumb question, there are some scenes that need some stabilization, does the colorist oversee this process too? 

Lot a questions and I'm not expecting all of them to be answered! If you do have some suggestions or helpful tips, I'd be grateful! 

Thanks!!

#2 Stuart Brereton