2 replies to this topic

#1 Chris Hurn

Chris Hurn
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Student

Posted 12 June 2005 - 02:08 AM

This camera looks interesting. I'm looking to upgrade my 1 year old sony consumer grade 1CCD camera, and get into some more serious filmmaking (I'm a 16 year old student here), but I have some questions.

Firstly,

I heard that you still use MiniDV tapes. Is this correct? SO I could essentially use my old camcorder as a deck for editing and it would lose no quality?

2) What's the difference between this and the VX2100E? That camera looks good too, but should I make the leap to this HD one? I want my films to look good, but I also want the camera to last me a little while.

3) I read an article somewhere about half a second glitches when editing with HD? does it glitch when editing? Also can I use Adobe Premiere or whatever to edit my film?

Thanks,

-Chris

#2 Chris Hurn

Chris Hurn
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts
  • Student

Posted 12 June 2005 - 03:43 AM

When I mean 'this' I was refering to the HDR FX1.

-Chris

#3 Stephen Williams

Stephen Williams
  • Sustaining Members
  • 4708 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Europe

Posted 12 June 2005 - 04:26 AM

This camera looks interesting. I'm looking to upgrade my 1 year old sony consumer grade 1CCD camera,  and get into some more serious filmmaking (I'm a 16 year old student here), but I have some questions.

Firstly,

I heard that you still use MiniDV tapes. Is this correct? SO I could essentially use my old camcorder as a deck for editing and it would lose no quality?

2) What's the difference between this and the VX2100E? That camera looks good too, but should I make the leap to this HD one? I want my films to look good, but I also want the camera to last me a little while.

3) I read an article somewhere about half a second glitches when editing with HD? does it glitch when editing? Also can I use Adobe Premiere or whatever to edit my film?

Thanks,

-Chris