Brett Allbritton
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 11 posts
  • Other
  • Tallahassee, FL

Posted 15 September 2016 - 08:23 PM

Hello everyone,

I've been lurking on these forums for a couple of years now, but this is my first time posting. Usually whenever I've had questions I can find answers here, and I'd like to thank you all because I have learned so much from this community.

I have some concerns about my Krasnogorsk-3 that I'd like to discuss. I've been interested in learning to shoot on film, and I managed to purchase one back in January for about $60 after shipping. For a simple camera to learn on, I thought the price was great.

As far as I can tell it runs smoothly and is in pretty good condition, but of course I'm not quite experienced enough to make that call. There are two things that I've noticed might be issues for my camera though, and before I start a short personal project I plan on doing soon, I'd like to get everyone's insight on it.

One problem is that the top loop former doesn't move when I push down the plunger. I can physically pull it up myself, but it doesn't open up the way the bottom loop former does. At first I wasn't that worried about this because I was thinking I'd remove these anyway, but after watching the disassembly and reassembly videos several times, I chickened out and will likely send it to a professional for that if need be.

The second problem is something I noticed that seems different about mine compared to those I see in Youtube videos about loading the camera. In a couple of these videos, the rollers that you feed the film into are able to open up slightly, as can be seen in this video here at 1:22. When I tried that, they won't budge at all.

Are these serious problems for my K-3? Will it still work despite these issues? I appreciate any insight you all may have.

#2 Wiliam Cardoza

Wiliam Cardoza
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 44 posts
  • Other
  • Salinas, California

Posted 15 September 2016 - 08:47 PM