#1 Macks Fiiod

Macks Fiiod
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 915 posts
  • Director
  • Og from DC, Now in NJ

Posted 03 April 2017 - 05:08 PM

There are a few vintage (70s/80s) cameras I'd like to get my hands on however I have little knowledge of the technology inside in the event of a breakdown. Could anyone point me to some video engineers in the area with knowledge of this equipment dating back to the 80's?

Google isn't helping. Thanks to all for your info.

Support Cinematography.com and buy gear using our Amazon links!
PANASONIC LUMIX GH5 Body 4K Mirrorless Camera, 20.3 Megapixels, Dual I.S. 2.0, 4K 422 10-bit, Full Size HDMI Out, 3 Inch Touch LCD, DC-GH5KBODY (USA Black)

#2 JD Hartman

JD Hartman
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1654 posts
  • Gaffer
  • Edison, N.J. U.S.A.

Posted 03 April 2017 - 07:07 PM

Video Engineers?? 

You mean TV/VCR/Video camera repairmen?  Better hurry quick, most TV repair shops went out of business long ago.

#3 Macks Fiiod

Macks Fiiod
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 915 posts
  • Director
  • Og from DC, Now in NJ

Posted 03 April 2017 - 07:32 PM

The only guy I've been referred to so far has been Roger Macie, who's considered one of the best? The issue for me is he's all the way in Providence.

You'd think business like that would last to some capacity now that any kid with a cheap DSLR wants to be a filmmaker/photographer.

#4 Satsuki Murashige

Satsuki Murashige
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3510 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • San Francisco, CA

Posted 03 April 2017 - 08:11 PM

Video Engineers?? 
You mean TV/VCR/Video camera repairmen?

That's what we used to call DITs who worked with ENG cameras and paintboxes. There are a number of folks with those skills still around, most have transitioned to DIT work or sound mixing.

#5 JD Hartman

JD Hartman
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1654 posts
  • Gaffer
  • Edison, N.J. U.S.A.

Posted 04 April 2017 - 05:30 AM