Lorne Cherry

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Other
  • Toronto

Posted 06 April 2017 - 09:17 AM

Hi, I'm new to things that move, but do have some experience as a former Creative Director for print and thus with composing and directing still photography for product shots.

My current business builds augmented reality racetracks. (Sounds cool, but so far it's a money pit :) Our first commissioned track build is about 30 ft x 16 ft and located in a basement with no natural light and 8 very old fluorescent fixtures. The track is raised 20" above the ground and covers almost the entire floor. We have only 24-36 inches on each side and 4 feet in front of the track.

The track will be used extensively in YouTube videos. To that end, I will purchase about $2000 max of prosumer gear to compliment our Panasonic TM900 camcorder, which is hopefully up to the task. (I cannot invest in/justify a G4/G5 at this time).

I will use a small motorised Pico roller and have it roll along the track for some interesting eye level shots. However, to show the scope of the track, I was considering purchasing a reasonably good fluid head tripod (Manfrotto 502 perhaps) and will use both a small jib and a slider for more professional overhead and panned/zoom shots. I also have a small Steadicam that I may use. Finally, we have in-car cameras that record FPV...here we have extensive experience, but still need to pay attention to the track lighting, as we are severely limited by the quality of the in-car cameras themselves, though they do record in HD.

1) The first problem I see is the fluorescent lights. There are currently 8 fixtures of 2 x 48" bulbs each on the ceiling, which quite low (7' 9")...should I change those out to daylight 5500K, and if so, can you recommend a tube that is good and will compliment the main and fill lights?