Tenzin Phuntsog
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 23 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • USA

Posted 29 April 2017 - 10:39 AM

Dear Filmmakers,

I am a young assistant professor teaching Cinematography and have been introducing shooting on film to my college students. Most seem to be really excited about the prospect of shooting and learning cinematography on film. In an effort to make the entire process more streamlined, I am reaching out to the community here to learn what other people are doing in this digital age: I am curious what other programs are doing with film. If you are still teaching with film what kind of system do you use to cover film stock and lab/telecine fees? What do you emphasize when teaching on film? Please message me directly or leave a response below, thank you!

For me teaching on film forces students to really think and plan their shots ahead of time. The film camera's stripped down approach without the aid of the digital WYSIWYG viewfinder also tests the student's ability to perform proper exposure, focus, etc. Shooting on film is also a wonderful way to learn about light and the science of filmmaking.

Edited by Tenzin Phuntsog, 29 April 2017 - 10:40 AM.

Support Cinematography.com and buy gear using our Amazon links!
PANASONIC LUMIX GH5 Body 4K Mirrorless Camera, 20.3 Megapixels, Dual I.S. 2.0, 4K 422 10-bit, Full Size HDMI Out, 3 Inch Touch LCD, DC-GH5KBODY (USA Black)

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19535 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 29 April 2017 - 11:01 AM