New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Student
  • Calgary

Posted 11 June 2017 - 01:56 PM

Hi there!

Last night I watched "Kiss of the Spiderwoman", in which there are beautiful, dream-like sequences where it appears the crew was filming in daytime (there are clearly shots of the sun), but the overall effect resembles super bright moonlight due to their filming in black and white. At least I believe they are filming in black and white - in one scene it changes to colour halfway through, so perhaps they were using colour film with a filter of some kind? I am a student, so I'm not sure of all the techniques available to get the effect. I have attached some pictures so you can see what I mean. Sorry they're so LQ!

Anyways, I found this effect beautiful, so I'm wondering if any of you know how I would emulate it? What film stock to use, what lighting set up, settings on the camera... anything helps! Thanks!

P.S. The cinematographer for this film was Rodolfo Sanchez, in case any of you are familiar with his work!

Attached Images

• Screen Shot 2017-06-11 at 12.58.48 PM.png
  • Screen Shot 2017-06-11 at 12.57.04 PM.png

Support Cinematography.com and buy gear using our Amazon links!
PANASONIC LUMIX GH5 Body 4K Mirrorless Camera, 20.3 Megapixels, Dual I.S. 2.0, 4K 422 10-bit, Full Size HDMI Out, 3 Inch Touch LCD, DC-GH5KBODY (USA Black)

#2 Satsuki Murashige

Satsuki Murashige
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3510 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • San Francisco, CA

Posted 11 June 2017 - 03:14 PM

I haven't seen the film, but Day for Night photography was common in the black and white era. It was the cheapest and quickest way to shoot night scenes in large exterior locations.