New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Director
  • Texas

Posted 15 July 2017 - 12:09 AM

Hello all!

I'm new to cinematography.com and am excited to start participating in different forums. I've posted this question in a couple different forums not knowing which would be the best place.

I am going to be working on a project soon and want to shoot super 16mm. I have been looking at cameras online to buy and have come across some decently priced Aaton XTRs from various countries outside the U.S. My concern is that some sellers have mentioned that they are PAL cameras. Can anyone tell me if this will matter when shooting the film? I have heard mixed opinions about it just referring to frame, rate in which case I can adjust the camera's frame rate. Others have told me that I will constantly have flicker due to electricity in the US. Will I be able to use the camera or should I look for something else?

Support Cinematography.com and buy gear using our Amazon links!
PANASONIC LUMIX GH5 Body 4K Mirrorless Camera, 20.3 Megapixels, Dual I.S. 2.0, 4K 422 10-bit, Full Size HDMI Out, 3 Inch Touch LCD, DC-GH5KBODY (USA Black)

#2 Stuart Brereton

Stuart Brereton
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2804 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 15 July 2017 - 12:24 AM

PAL and NTSC are video standards, and have nothing to do with film. An XTR should be able to shoot at 25fps for a PAL Transfer, or at 24fps for an NTSC transfer (at 23.98fps).