#1 Eugene Lehnert

Eugene Lehnert
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 203 posts
  • Other
  • New York, NY

Posted 29 June 2005 - 01:44 PM

I shot some 35mm film for the first time recently on the Super America Moviecam and I just got the footage back from the lab. I was shooting using the 4:3 aspect ratio in the viewfinder but to my dismay the cropping on video is not what I expected. My shots look correct if I look at the footage using an underscan monitor though. I did not take into account tv safe areas.

Is there more space on the neg? Can I do another transfer and scan in a larger area? There is plenty of room in the viewfinder but I do not know how much of what I see in the viewfinder ends up on the neg. I'm quite new at this.

#2 Max Jacoby

Max Jacoby
  • Sustaining Members
  • 2955 posts
  • Other

Posted 29 June 2005 - 05:21 PM

The problem is not with the neg or viewfinder, it's tv monitors.

You can retransfer your footage and ask the colorist to zoom out a bit, with the idea that this additional area will be 'lost' when viewing it on a reluar tv screen.

#3 Stuart Brereton

Stuart Brereton
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3074 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 29 June 2005 - 06:05 PM

The problem is not with the neg or viewfinder, it's tv monitors.

You can retransfer your footage and ask the colorist to zoom out a bit, with the idea that this additional area will be 'lost' when viewing it on a reluar tv screen.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

The only problem being that not all TVs overscan by the same amount, so you run the risk of leaving a visible border around your picture.

#4 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19769 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 29 June 2005 - 08:26 PM

The only problem being that not all TVs overscan by the same amount, so you run the risk of leaving a visible border around your picture.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>