Photo

Kodak 500T on Beaulieu Pro and Canon 814XLS?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Samuel Berger

Samuel Berger
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1022 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Seattle

Posted 15 December 2017 - 05:40 PM

I'm covering an indoor gymnastics event soon and I was planning on shooting on 16mm Vision3 500T but now I'm reconsidering.

I think I'm going to use Super 8 instead because the lighting won't be that wonderful and I can get more depth of field with Super 8. Plus, I don't want to scare anyone walking around with a huge Eclair NPR at a time when cops are shooting photographers because they mistake cameras for guns.

But I was wondering if I would need to do any sort of notch hack to get them to work properly. The Beaulieu is new, I've never used it before. I got it as a gift, it's a Max 8 gate altered by Bjorn Andersson. And the Canon, I haven't used it in ten years so I will need to re-learn some of it. I sorta moved away from the hobby after losing my entire Super 8 collection.

I admit that I tend to default to Single 8 and the ZC1000 but the only film I have for it is the 100D. That's not going to do great in a place lit mostly by fluorescent tubes.

The Beaulieu has been modified to take regular C-mount lens. I intend to use a Canon 12-120 fluorite zoom.

Do I have to worry about notching using this stock on those cameras?

#2 Martin Baumgarten

Martin Baumgarten
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Industry Rep
  • Plattsburgh, New York U.S.A.

Posted 15 December 2017 - 06:36 PM