New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • 1st Assistant Camera
  • S

Posted 10 May 2018 - 07:27 PM

Hello,

This is my first time posting, it would be really nice to get some advice on a lighting setup I'll be doing soon, since I don't have much experience yet. I'm graduating from film school this year and just starting out as a cinematographer, so sorry if the questions I have are really basic. 

I have to light a room for a short, and because of the look we want to achieve compared to what the location looks, the director wants to shoot against the window. I'm attaching a picture of what the wide shot is going to look like more or less:

https://drive.google...452?usp=sharing

The mood is kind of a dark comedy, so the characters can be a bit silhouetted but not completely. Also, the window must be blown out because what's outside doesn't really fit the story.

My plan is to cover the windows with some 216, blow it out with an HMI, and inside use bounces and another HMI coming from the right of the frame to balance out the exposure.

My doubts are the actual wattage it would require to blow out this window (light it evenly), which doesn't really get any direct sunlight, and also how much power the other HMI should be (the one that will be inside).

Sorry for any english mistakes. Thanks!

#2 Miguel Angel

Miguel Angel
  • Sustaining Members
  • 843 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Spain / Ireland / South Africa

Posted 10 May 2018 - 08:02 PM

Hello Flora and welcome to the forum.

The location looks pretty good and it is great that you are shooting against the window for your wide shot because that means that you can potentially go around 90° on your characters for the close ups, they will be side lit already and you will only need a frame with diffusion to make the light on their faces a bit softer if that’s needed.

Now, regarding your question, I’d say that a 4K / M40 far away will do the job if you place a frame in front of it.