Matching Film and lenses for Stills.

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 photomoto

photomoto
  • Guests

Posted 16 July 2005 - 11:59 AM

I am shooting stills for a commercial. I am fairly new to this, and need to know if I can match the ISO of the film in the camera to my film in the still camera with no problems. I will be shooting transparency. What would anyone reccomend as far as film type for this?

Thanks for your replies...

#2 Filip Plesha

Filip Plesha
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1267 posts
  • Other
  • Croatia

Posted 17 July 2005 - 02:59 PM

you will not have any more problems matching MP ISO to still ISO that you would have matching ISO of different still films.
The problem is that not all still films have accurate ISO ratings on the box. Sometimes it is exagerated, and sometimes it is rated with a bit of headroom (in case of negative film).

What slide film were you planing on using?

#3 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19769 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 17 July 2005 - 04:35 PM

You don't need to match what speed stock the camera is using because you aren't going to use their f-stops either. You just need to be able to get a correctly exposed image under the lighting being used for the scene, and a shutter speed that is reasonable for handholding the camera.

It is not unusual for a still photographer to use Ektachrome 320T when the DP is using 500T negative stock in the camera. Sometimes the still photographer has to push his film though. You're basically on your own, doing whatever it takes to get a good exposure. Talk to the DP and find out how they are exposing creatively (like whether a face is supposed to be a little dark, if the scene is supposed to be moonlit, etc.) But you don't have to match ASA, f-stop, and shutter speed on your still camera to what the movie camera is doing because generally it's not possible.

#4 Filip Plesha

Filip Plesha
  • Basic Members