#1 Stephen Whitehead

Stephen Whitehead
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Toronto, Canada

Posted 17 July 2005 - 03:13 PM

I am shooting a film at the end of the summer using the sony f900. Now it is my first time using this camera, as most of my previous work has been done on 35mm.

Now the film is intended to have theatrical release in the 1.85 format. Nowat first I was simply thinking of framing the shots so a little bit of the top and bottom could be cropped out later. But the film is goes to call for the addition of post generated camera shake in some parts, as well as stabilization in others. Would it be wise to simply compose the shots so some of the image will be cropped of the side, and a little more off the top and bottom than usual to ad a little more head room for later in post? would this sacrifice to much quality in HD, and how much would everyone recomend to frame out?

Cheers,

Steve Whitehead

#2 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19759 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 17 July 2005 - 04:16 PM

I'd just shoot full-frame and compose for 1.85 -- it's almost the same image as full-frame 1.78.

For shots that need bounce & shake added in post, I'd frame a little looser maybe, but the truth is that the bouncing effect will hide a zoom into the picture.

As for stabilizing, I'd do that as little as needed.

The Vista One framelines in the Marker Menu are a good way of framing for 1.85 (it's more like 1.89 but close enough.) Even turned on, you'll notice that the 1.85 lines are barely inside the top & bottom of 1.78 full-frame, it's so similar.

You could create your own smaller 1.85 framelines that are well inside 1.78, but you'd have to shoot a framing chart and all those reformatted shots may end up with black borders on one of the edges, and your final 16x9 home video master may entail a lot more reframing to clean up the edges of the frame from mics, mattes, etc.