#1 gogetmagog

gogetmagog

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Other

Posted 21 July 2005 - 03:26 PM

I'm thinking of doing a bleach bypass on my next film but am wary of the extra cost of processing. I'm working with 500 ft of film- does anyone have any numbers off-hand? Also, has anyone attempted doing this themselves and if so do you have any advice as to what to avoid and what to be prepared for? I have access to a darkroom and chemicals and have read up on the procedure. Granted, I've never tried it before and am probably insane. Feel free to tell me so. Thanks, kt

#2 Tomas Koolhaas

Tomas Koolhaas
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • los angeles

Posted 21 July 2005 - 03:57 PM

Hello,
I have only done a bleach-bypass once on vision2 250D, I did a bunch of tests (which of course is vital when using any special process!) I found that because vision2 has so much lattitude, I could get away with quite a few things that people warn you not to do when doing a bleach bypass.
From the stories I had heard from people who did a bleach bypass I was expecting the blacks to crush a lot sooner than they did, I cant remember exactly how much anymore but it seemed to reduce the lattitude in the shadows by about 50%, so if your stock would useualy be pure black at 5 stops under it will probably get there at around 2.5 or 3 stops under.
I was recomended to underexpose the negative a little for the bleach bypass (by around a stop or so) I actually found (through my tests) that certain shots/scenes looked better slightly overexposed, although be very careful when you do this as your highlights will blow-out very quickly with this process. All in all the footage looked really good, I will try and post a shot from it for you to see what I'm talking about.
Cheers.
Tomas.

#3 David Mullen ASC

David Mullen ASC
  • Sustaining Members
  • 19768 posts
  • Cinematographer
  • Los Angeles

Posted 21 July 2005 - 04:34 PM