My Super 8 short available online

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Christopher Heston

Christopher Heston
  • Guests

Posted 21 July 2005 - 05:29 PM

Hi, my name is Chris Heston and I am a student at the University of California at Santa Cruz. I recently took a film and video class and I shot a short comedy about a man who recieves a remote control that is more than he can handle.

The short was shot on Kodachrome 40 and shot with a Canon 814xls and Canon 310xl. The extreme close ups were with the 310xl and the rest with the 814xls.

http://slugfilm.ucsc...eo.php?film=197

hope you enjoy!

#2 Alessandro Machi

Alessandro Machi
  • Sustaining Members
  • 3318 posts
  • Other
  • California

Posted 22 July 2005 - 05:42 PM

I heard this annoying click throughout the piece, was that intentional?

Your Canon 814XLS focuses down to 2.4 feet in the telephoto mode, any reason why you did the close-up shots with the 310 instead?

The opening voiceover was on my mind as the movie progressed. I was wondering when the remote was going to morph into more than a remote, yet the movie was almost over before the remote did change. I never considered that knowing a movie's length (which the internet telegraphs through the timeline graph), and how far along the time line the movie actually is affects the way I view something, but it most definitely did.

I began to use the timeline as some kind of a stop watch as I wondered what you had up your sleeze. I mean the movie was almost over and the remote was still a remote! The ending was effective. I would have liked to have seen the final shot of the film be of the cat with the remote, and perhaps a cat food bowl next to the cat where the girl used to be.