#1 Morgan Peline

Morgan Peline
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Cinematographer

Posted 24 July 2005 - 05:47 PM

Hi,

I recently watched a film directed by Sally Potter called 'Yes' which had many different scenes which used different types of step-printing - some of the scenes brought to mind 'Chung King Express'.

I'm shooting a short soon on 16mm which will most likely go straight to video (though we might get a print made eventually...) and am toying with the idea of using step-printing for a scene where a man collapses on stage after he has a stroke during a gig. At the moment we are discussing using a speed ramp from normal motion to slow motion to show his fall to the ground. Most likely from 25fps to 75fps.

But recently I've started thinking of maybe using step-printing to show the man's confused state of mind either when we are looking at him or when we see his POV.

However, I've never done step 'printing' before so I have no idea what kinds of things are achievable.

During a brief conversation I was told that you can shoot at 25fps and then quadruple every frame to create a strange kind of motion (blur?) in real time e.g. in terms of frames you show : Frame 1 x 4 times, then Frame 5 x 4 times, then frame 9 x 4 times etc.

I've also been told you can achieve a fake speed ramping effect in the transfer (if we can't get a speed ramping motor for the iris) e.g. you shoot at 75fps and then you can transfer the same footage at 75fps as well as 25fps and then do a cross fade in the edit to do a sort of budget speed ramp effect.

What else can you do? What other effects can you achieve?... I haven't had a chance to see 'Yes' a second time to pay closer attention to the different types of effects that you can achieve.

Thanks for any new techniques you might be able to explain to me!

#2 Dominic Case

Dominic Case
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1357 posts
  • Other
  • Sydney Australia

Posted 24 July 2005 - 06:04 PM