#1 jon portland

jon portland

New

• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Other

Posted 26 July 2005 - 09:25 PM

someone referred me to this site, so i don't shoot film at all. my experience has been in video. so i was wondering if someone could give me some pointers.

about to start a project that will be shot on BetaCam SX.

i haven't had a chance to talk to the company that will be doing the film transfer yet. i thought i'd get some input on what is the best way to submit my material to them.

i was thinking maybe sequencial .tga or .tiff files on disc. about 900 frames for a :30 spot.

also would it be a good idea to crop my video to 2.35:1 ratio [anamorphic] or should i give it to them uncropped.

the commercial will be shown in local theatres. i've never done this before so i'm kind of nervous about how it will turn out.

One more thing, what's the rule on black/white level. usually broadcast is 7.5/100 ire. would it be better to go 0 ire black?

any guidelines and tips would be most appreciated. thanks in advance.

#2 Dominic Case

Dominic Case
  • Basic Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1357 posts
  • Other
  • Sydney Australia

Posted 27 July 2005 - 09:09 PM

i haven't had a chance to talk to the company that will be doing the film transfer yet.

Only one tip:

Talk to them. Before you do anything else.

They will have specific guidelines about what ratio you should submit in, what file format (if you are going to a digital post route), what pixel dimensions etc.
You will also need to ask some specific questions about the soundtrack - if it's for cinema you will probably be looking for a Dolby stereo track, which involves licence fees etc.

Other places might work slghtly differently, so any general advice yyou get here may not apply to your specific facility.