sneeze proof
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 40 posts
  • Other
  • Melbourne - Australia

Posted 05 August 2005 - 09:58 PM

Hi

I'm hoping to get a little advice from the experienced crew around here in regards to workplace relationships.

I'm an editor (am slowly learning the aspects of cinematography) and am having issues with the footage I'm being currently fed.
They are just talking head interviews, talking about culture and intercultural awareness and interactivity.
Anyway, some of the shots just plain suck. A couple I have refused to use - you have to draw the line somewhere. (two interviewees looks really stoned due to bad lighting).
Others have been over exposed and off white balance etc....

Now, the guy who's doing the interviews is not a cinematographer, nor has he anything to do with film making. He writes the interview, sets up the camera (pdx10p) presses some buttons (depending on his mood) and does the interview.
I brought him into the editing suite to show him the shots and chat about the good aspects and some things to avoid (being very gentle and constructive).
He even went and did a short course on the basics of camera operation and lighting setup etc... (as he refuses to let anyone else shoot it).

So the last time he called me to advise him on the setup and talk about lighting and composition and camera adjustments before he started shooting.
We got a good setup, I adjusted the camera's exposure and focus and white balance and all things necessary - it was looking really good (all the while explaining to him why we were doing it and the effect it would have in post).

After the interview I find out that he flicked everything back to auto (auto exposure, balance, focus)
So now the shot is over exposed and looks blue and there's just no fixing over exposed dv, and I have to match 4 other interviews with differing, but equally bad mistakes.

So what to do?