A few Quick Questions...

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Mathieu McFadden

Mathieu McFadden
  • Guests

Posted 06 August 2005 - 09:20 PM

Hi.

My name's Mat, I'm currently a Film student attending Toronto Film School.

I'm currently producing my first 16mm short which I will be directing in a few weeks.

The short entitled "Burdens of a Thief" will be shot on the Arri SR3 with EXR 7293, 200 ASA 16mm stock.

The scene consist of a conflict between a female thief and a drunk. It will be shot in studio, the set is an abandoned apartment the thief is using as a hideout. The drunk stumbles on the thief and spots her loot and moves in to take it.

I have done a brief lighting and camera set up, and it looks alright. However I am using a lot of students and I'm worried my camera op and DP will need a bit more help then with conventional directing.

Basically I want it to be very dark dramatic shadows...

I have a 5k Fresnel comming through a window as the ambiant lighting. I'll be using a bit of overhead lighting. A lot of close ups so I'll be using small keys and back lights.

These are some of the shots I am worried about.

I want to have my subject, the thief, hiding in shadows, If my she is lit at 4Fstops and the background is at 2.3 or less; My camera is exposed at 5.6fs. I will have a very dark thief correct(still getting detail and exposure)? She is wearing all black however she has blond hair which I may or may not cover with a skimask.