• Basic Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Student
  • Montreal, QC

Posted 11 August 2005 - 08:29 PM

Hello to all,

I have a question for anyone with an answer :lol:

I was offered a Sekonic L-558Cine brand new and significantly cheaper than my camera store. The only catch, it is the 'CE' version which apparently means it is not compatiable with the FCC version (USA model) or RT32 module and pocket Wizard. Would this be something to fret about? I'm a relatively amateur user, studying animation, cinematography and of course still photography, but I won't be putting it to professional use for quite sometime.

Anyways, can anyone see a problem with a non FCC 'CE' version L-558Cine? Or should I just go ahead and buy her?

Thanks!

Chris Flint
Montreal, Canada

#2 Mitch Lusas

Mitch Lusas
  • Basic Members
  • PipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Director
  • Los Angeles, CA

Posted 11 August 2005 - 09:09 PM

I've had the same lightmeter now for four months, and have not been disappointed with it. Not being compatible with the pocketwizard has not harmed anything I have done so far, although I have not been involved with any projects involving the need for wireless-synch-shooting.

One of the main things you want to look at is what you are planning on using the lightmeter for. If you want to use the spot and incident meters for lighting scenes in film, you will be set with the Sekonic L-558. When it comes to cinematography, the pocketwizard is more of a gimic than a necessity. The only downside I've found so far is it's size.